Cuyahoga County Online Students Join National Honor Society


ECOT Distinguishes Students in Cuyahoga County for Superior Academic Achievements

The Electronic Classroom of Tomorrow (ECOT) recognizes Sterling Brown from Cleveland Heights, Marah Goodin from Mayfield Heights, Connor Hazeldine from Bay Village, Taylor Vrbac from Parma Heights, and Briana Wilson from Mayfield Heights for recently being inducted into the National Honor Society.


ECOT is an online public school serving more than 15,000 Ohio students. Students in grades K-12 learn at home and attend virtual classrooms through their computer.  Founded in February 2010, ECOT’s Jeffrey P. Forster Chapter of the National Honor Society has welcomed nearly 335 members to date. Of those members, nearly 70 students were chosen for induction this year.

All demonstrating merit in the areas of character, scholarship, leadership, and service, the school’s current National Honor Society members are heavily involved both inside and outside of the classroom. Some students even partake in the Post-Secondary Enrollment Option, where they attend high school and college at the same time. Members also spend their time completing various service projects within their communities.

“These students demonstrate worthiness by overcoming challenges in the classroom and sharing their devotion with the community,” said Superintendent James Thomas. “We are eager to recognize students who achieve such high measures of success here at ECOT.”

ECOT was started in 2000 by Bill Lager.  Based in Columbus, Ohio, ECOT is the first and largest online school in the country.  The virtual school has more than 15,000 students enrolled across Ohio and recently had the single-largest graduating class in America.

Please follow and like us: