Understanding the Great Lakes Conference

The Great Lakes Conference continues to expand and grow. Formerly a 10 member league with Bay, Buckeye, Elyria Catholic, Fairview, Holy Name, Lakewood, Normandy, Parma Sr., Rocky River and Valley Forge as members, the group welcomed the addition of North Olmsted and Westlake to the conference starting this fall.

With the conference expanding to 12 schools, the schools are divided into 2 divisions, the GLC East and GLC West. The divisions are as follows:

GLC West: Bay, Elyria Catholic, Fairview, North Olmsted, Rocky River, Westlake

GLC East: Buckeye, Holy Name, Lakewood, Normandy, Parma Sr., Valley Forge

The GLC will be crowning Conference Champions in each sport amongst all 12 schools and each division’s top team can boast a division title.

In some sports, the conference will finish their regular season with an East/West Crossover match-up game. Each school will battle the school from the other division that finished in the same place as them. The two division leaders will meet for a championship game. In other sports, there will be a conference tournament/meet that will crown the GLC champions. This format should bring plenty of excitement for our athletes and fans.

Please follow and like us: