Two Avon Lake High School Artists Earn Gold Key Awards at Scholastic Art Show 2018

Senior Kara Fazzone and Junior Liz Thieken

The 50th Annual Scholastic Art Awards were recently announced in Lorain County. Two Avon Lake High School students earned Gold Key Art Awards and will moved on to national competition in New York this spring. The Art show is now open at LCCC Stocker Arts Center (2nd floor, Beth K Stocker Gallery) through Feb. 11.

Senior Kara Fazzone earned a Gold Key for her photograph “Crossroads” while Junior Liz Thieken earned a Gold Key for her digital art “Sanctuary.” The Gold Key Award is designated to the top 50 pieces submitted to the jurors.

The Scholastic Art Awards program is the largest annual art competition in the country. Students in schools across the United States and Canada create the 150,000 entries each year. The Lorain County region includes public and private middle and high schools from Lorain, Erie and Huron counties. Over 1,500 works were entered from the three counties. Work was juried by an esteemed panel of art and design professionals and professors from northeast Ohio. Work was judged by originality, technical skill and emergence of personal vision and voice.

The exhibit is hosted at the Stocker Center gallery on the campus of LCCC and funded by Nordson Corporation Foundation, C. Paul Stocker Arts Foundation and Lorain County Community College. The exhibit is open to the public. Beth K. Stocker Gallery hours are Mon. – Fri. 10:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. with Tues., Wed., and Thurs. evenings 5 to 7 p.m. and Sundays 1-5 p.m.  The gallery is also open during Stocker Center Hoke Theater performances.

SILVER KEY WINNERS: Kara Fazzone: (12) Noise Pollution (Painting), The Other Side (Digital Art), Déjà vu (Photography) • Laura Bir: (12) Hanging Pond Garden (Ceramics) • Margaux Duval: (12) Koi Fish (Drawing & Illustration) • McKenna Casto: (11) Candid (Photography) • Nicole Summerfield: (10) Floridian Home (Photography) • Ashley Nally: (12) Space Mural (Photography), Net Sky (Photography); Owen Conroy: (10) Bleachers (Photography) • Hannah Kaczmarski: (9) Horse in Motion (Photography)

HONORABLE MENTION WINNERS: Kara Fazzone: (12) All eyes on me (Drawing & Ill), Mind distortion (Mixed Media), Inside Out (Drawing & Ill), Hands of time (Drawing & Ill), Rhythm (Drawing & Illustration), Clash (Digital Art), Purple Skies (Digital Art), Echo (Photography), Truth (Photograph • Lisa Curati: (12) Serata Pazza (Drawing & Ill) • Rachel Mueller: (9) The Pen is Mightier than the Sword (Drawing & Ill) • Mia Federle: (12) Clock Work (Drawing & Ill) • Nicole Warren: (12) Yarn Bowl (Ceramics) • Georgia Weeden: (9) Perspective (Photography) • Nathan Peachman: (11) Time of Light (Photography) • Jordan Saliba: (12) Living Room in the Woods (Photography) • Ashley Nally: (12) Shadow Light (Photography) • Olivia Conroy: (10) Owen on a Swing (Photography) • Angela Caruso: (12) Perspective (Photography) • Owen Conroy: (10) Boat Yard (Photography) • Rayana Meyers: (10) Vector Landscape (Digital Art) • Patrick Neipp: (11) Tunnel (Photography) • Leah Mangano: (9)

Please follow and like us: