Holy Trinity School Earns Governor’s Thomas Edison Award

37 Ohio Schools and 464 Teachers Receive Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in Stem Education

The Ohio Academy of Science has selected Holy Trinity School (Avon) as one of the 37 Ohio schools and 464 teachers to receive The Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards for Excellence in STEM Education and Student Research for their accomplishments during the 2019-2020 school year. This is the fourth consecutive year Holy Trinity has been selected for this award.

Each school will receive a special Governor’s Award certificate, and each teacher will receive a complementary membership to The Ohio Academy of Science. Holy Trinity teachers Nancy Wild, Jackie Powidel, Matthew Hess, Sara Martin, Tera Cowdin, Meghan Namestnik, Jennifer Hess, Sandy Gorenc and Jean Spinazze will receive membership into The Ohio Academy of Science. The Technology Division of the Ohio Development Services Agency funded the program.

The criteria for the Thomas Edison Award for Excellence are: (1) to conduct a local science fair with twelve or more students, (2) qualify two or more of these students for one of the Academy’s 17 district science days, (3) have students participate in at least one or more youth science opportunities beyond the classroom such as State Science Day, Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair, Science Olympiad, B-Wiser, visits to museums, mentorship programs, and extended field trips and other structured STEM-related youth activities, (4) convince external STEM professionals how and to what extent the school’s program met the Academy’s definition of STEM education.

The Ohio Academy of Science defines STEM education as both the mastery and integration of science technology, engineering, and mathematics for all PK-12 students. It incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design through student-focused, project-based curricula to develop skills of communication, teamwork/collaboration, creativity/innovation, critical thinking and problem solving. First established in 1985, the Governor’s Thomas Edison Awards recognizes Ohio schools and teachers who stimulate scientific student research and technological design and extend opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities. “These schools and teachers connecting classrooms to the real world by demonstrating the relevance of STEM.”, said Michael E. Woytek, the Academy’s Executive Director. Woytek went on to say, “they are developing a group of active and intrinsic learners.”

The Ohio Academy of Science initiated this educational partnership program in cooperation with The Office of The Governor and The Technology Division of The Ohio Development Services Agency to recognize schools and teachers for excellence in STEM education and scientific student research. About The Ohio Academy of Science Founded in 1891, The Ohio Academy of Science (OAS) is a membership-based, volunteer driven, not-for-profit organization. The Academy is the leading organization in Ohio to foster curiosity, discovery, innovation, and problem-solving skills in Ohio. OAS members are as diverse as the science taking place in Ohio, and our programs support science from pre-college and college students through scientific professionals. For more information about the OAS, please visit its website at http://www.ohiosci.org

Please follow and like us: