The North Ridgeville Historical Society will host several open houses at their restored one-room schoolhouse/museum this fall. Built in 1859 as one of ten district schools, the District #9 Schoolhouse served students from both North Ridgeville and Avon until its closure in 1924. The building was donated to the group in the late 1980s and has been restored to its original look- complete with period desks, slates and outhouses. Visitors are welcomed the last Sunday of each month from 2-5 seasonally, from May through October.
The next regular open house will be Sunday, August 30th from 2-5. In addition, the group will open the doors two extra dates in September when they participate in Ohio’s “Open Doors“ initiative- where museums across the state offer additional times and free admission to their historic sites on certain dates in September. The public is invited to explore the District #9 building and grounds Friday and Saturday, September 11th and 12th between 10-4.
The school is located at 5064 Jaycox Road in North Ridgeville – just south of Mills Road. Parking onsite is limited, but nearby side street parking is available. There is no admission charge and all ages will find something of interest as they explore how education in the past looked and felt.
More information on Open Door events across the state can be found on the Ohio History Connection’s event calendar at: https://www.Ohiohistory.org/opendoors, or via the North Ridgeville Historical Society’s Facebook page or website: northridgevillehistoricalsociety.com
The Villager Newspaper Online Your Community News – Cleveland's Westshore
