Southwestern Conference Expands to 10 Teams


The Southwestern Conference has voted to expand to a ten-team league configuration

with the addition of Lakewood High School and Midview High School as full conference

members beginning with the 2015-2016 school year.

Michael McCarthy, Commissioner of the Southwestern Conference, stated: “The

addition of these two fine schools adds to the long-term stability of the conference.

These two schools both have fine reputations for their academic, co-curricular and

athletic programs. In addition, both of these schools have outstanding physical facilities

and provide a major positive addition to the conference.”

Current Southwestern Conference schools include Amherst Steele, Avon Lake, Berea,

Brecksville-Broadview Heights, Midpark, North Olmsted, Olmsted Falls and Westlake.

Next year Berea and Midpark merge to become the Berea-Midpark Titans. The

conference previously announced the addition of Avon High School beginning in the

2015-16 school year and now with the addition of Lakewood and Midview in that same

year, the Southwestern Conference will operate with 10 teams for the first time in its’

long history, dating back to its’ inception in 1937.


Advertise with The Villager!
Local, effective advertising that works!
Get your name out there!

Website and Print Advertising combos available!
Fill out our Contact Us form or call us today! 440-899-9277

Serving 100,000+ readers each month.



Please follow and like us: