OHSAA’s Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Committee Honors 26 Schools

OHSAA logo

including Bay and North Ridgeville High Schools

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Ohio High School Athletic Association’s Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity (SEI) Committee has announced that 26 member schools have been selected to receive school sportsmanship awards for the 2012-13 academic year. The 26 schools met the ‘Respect the Game Challenge,’ while 16 of those schools also earned the Harold A. Meyer Award. In addition, Germantown Valley View High School has been selected to receive the highest award, which is the prestigious Commissioner’s Award. Valley View will be honored at the boys state basketball tournament in March.

The list of recipients was accepted by the OHSAA Board of Directors at its regularly scheduled meeting September 5. This is the third year the OHSAA’s revised three-tiered process for the Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity school awards has been implemented.

In order to meet the ‘Respect the Game Challenge,’ schools must complete a comprehensive checklist that confirms the various sportsmanship, ethics and integrity programs within their school. Besides developing a well-planned, educational program on sportsmanship, the form reminds schools to develop a comprehensive student-athlete campaign; a coaches campaign; a student body, student support group, parents and fan campaign; and a public address announcers campaign. Schools that have met the challenge will receive a “Respect The Game” banner that can be displayed in a prominent area of the school.

Meeting the ‘Respect The Game Challenge’ is the precursor to being considered for the Harold A. Meyer Award. That award, named in honor of the late OHSAA commissioner from 1969 to 1977, is presented to schools that demonstrate via a PowerPoint presentation they have completed an eight-part program that promotes sportsmanship, ethics and integrity in their schools and communities.

The applications and presentations were judged by students from Ohio Dominican University, in collaboration with the OHSAA staff. First year winners receive a banner to hang in a prominent area of their school. Schools that had previously received the award were presented with the banner the first year they won and subsequently receive the numerals corresponding to the year(s) the award has been earned. The Meyer Award has been presented every year since 1992 and Bay Village Bay is the only high school that has won the award every year since its inauguration.

The following is the list of schools that have been selected for the Awards:

2012-13 Commissioner’s Award, Harold A. Meyer Award and Respect the Game Challenge Recipients

* Indicates first time Commissioner’s Award recipient

* Valley View High School (Germantown)

2012-13 Harold A. Meyer Award and Respect the Game Challenge Recipients

* Indicates first time Meyer Award recipient

Amelia High School (Batavia)

Bay High School (Bay Village)

Bishop Watterson High School (Columbus)

Coshocton High School (Coshocton)

Dublin Sells Middle School (Dublin)

La Salle High School (Cincinnati)

Nagel Middle School (Cincinnati)

Norwayne High School (Creston)

Ross High School (Hamilton)

Saint Ursula Academy (Cincinnati)

Stow-Munroe Falls High School (Stow)

Sycamore Junior High School (Cincinnati)

Teays Valley East Middle School (Ashville)

Teays Valley West Middle School (Commercial Point)

West Holmes High School (Millersburg)

2012-13 Respect the Game Challenge Recipients

* Indicates first time RTG Challenge recipient

*James A. Garfield High School (Garrettsville)

Kenston High School (Chagrin Falls)

*Mariemont High School (Cincinnati)

North Ridgeville High School (North Ridgeville)

Norwood High School (Norwood)

*Olentangy High School (Lewis Center)

*Olentangy Orange High School (Lewis Center)

*Our Lady of the Elms High School (Akron)

Steele High School (Amherst)

*Upper Arlington High School (Columbus)


Please follow and like us: