Westlake Schools logoWestlakeLBMS_Team4_LCCCRegionalTwo Lee Burneson Middle School Science Olympiad teams took first place in 23 events at a regional tournament on March 8 at Lorain County Community College.

The team of seventh, eighth and ninth graders from LBMS and Westlake High School took first and third place team finishes and won the Director’s Award. The top finishes won the middle school team a chance to compete at the state tournament on April 26 at The Ohio State University in Columbus.

LBMS teams took first place in Cant’ Judge a Powder, Crime Buster, Entomology, Experimental Design, Helicopters, Heredity, Meteorology, Metric Master, Road Scholar, Robo-Cross, Rotor Egg Drop, Shock Value, Simple Machines, Solar System, Sounds of Music, Water Quality, and Write It Do It.


The LBMS teams competed against about 500 middle and high school students representing 25 schools. The contest was sponsored by LCCC’s Science and Mathematics Division, with financial support from The Nordson Corp.

Team members winning the Director’s Award were Aaron Li, Charlotte Button, Nikita Ganji and Rachel Altman. This award is given for completing a special task, which this year was a difficult logic puzzle that took several hours to complete.

Other team members included Ishaan Dutta, Ahkilesh Reddy, Chris Slater, Miranda Li, Tommy McHugh, Derek Kodger, Jane Fitz, Mary Babinski, Talya Jeter, Kat Bowe, Kimaya Bahkle, Tom Kennedy, Yuhui Wu, Sam Giusto, Heesoo Lee, Finsam Samson, Jackson Liang, Sneha Ramachandran, Julia Alyward, Sanil Gosain, Alex Lathem, Alex Rujawitz, Madelyn Lockshine, Nick Bauer, Patrick Lee, Kyle Kinney, Darin O’Meara, Danny Mather, Jackson Liang, Heesee Lee and Maria Alamir.


Please follow and like us: