Ohio State Wrestlers Claim Big 10 Co-Championship


Iowa Coach Tom Brands and Ohio State Coach Tom Ryan indulged in a little tug-of-war with the 2015 Big 10 Championship trophy Sunday after the Hawkeyes and Buckeyes ended the conference tournament as co-champs.

After 64 years, the wait is over. Ohio State is the 2015 Big Ten Wrestling Co-Champion, the Buckeyes’ first conference title since 1951.

Big 10 teams converged in Columbus over the weekend as venerable St. John Arena hosted the 101st renewal of the annual mat classic.

Buckeye senior Logan Stieber closed out his magnificent Big 10 career with his fourth title, coming this year at 141 pounds.

Buckeye Coach Tom Ryan and Iowa head Tom Brands shared the championship trophy as the meet ended with Northwestern heavyweight Mike McMullen edging Iowa’s Bobby Telford. The decision created a tie in the final  team standings. Ohio State and Iowa ended with 120 points each.


The Ohio State University wrestling team, 2015 Big 10 Conference Co-Champ.

Ohio State’s Nathan Tomasello also captured a championship. The freshman won at 125 pounds,  bringing the Ohio State crowd to its feet as he decisioned Iowa’s Thomas Gilford.

Ohio placed four in the finals. Bo Jordan lost a one-point decision to cousin Isaac Jordan, 3-2, at 165 pounds. Kyle Snyder was runner-up at 197 pounds.

Iowa sent four to finals but came home empty, losing championship matches at 125, 141, 157 and heavyweight.

Complete Ohio State Big 10 Tournament news here: www.ohiostatebuckeyes.com/sports/m-wrestl/recaps/030815aac.html

Click here to view the entire photo galley: www.villagerphoto.com/Sports/Big-10-Championships-2015/


Please follow and like us: