New Avon Library Breaks Ground

Ground was broken for the new Avon Library adjacent to the existing library the afternoon of Tues., Aug 10.

Staff of the Lorain Public Library System, members of the LPLS Board of Trustees, Mayor Jensen, members of Avon City Council, members of the Avon Branch Library Levy Committee, representatives of the Gilbane Building Company, architectural firm GPD Group and RFC Consulting were on hand.

Jason Nolde, GDP Group, LPLS Board President Dr. Garalynn Tomas, Trustee Keith Belanger, Board Member Gloria Badillo, LPLS Director Anastasia Diamond-Ortiz, Mayor Bryan Jensen, Trustee Ethel Schiemann, Board Member Tiffany McCelland, Craig Witherspoon (Avon City Council), Tammy Holtzmieier, and Jennifer Blair (Gilbane Building) break ground for Avon’s new library.

The groundbreaking marks the start of construction for the new library, which was approved by voters in 2020. Voters approved a 2-mill levy, which will generate $1.9 million per year for the next 20 years (beginning in this year) for renovations and expansion of the existing Avon Branch Library on Harvest Drive. It will also provide operating funds for the library to expand services, materials and hours. Ribbon-cutting will take place next year.

Renderings of the new Avon Library which will be building adjacent to and expand the existing library on Harvest Drive.

Please follow and like us: