Eakins are Bay Citizens of the Year

DSC_4155-1The Bay Village Community Council is pleased to announce that Eric and Cynthia Eakin have been named the 2015 Citizens of the Year.

The Bay Fireworks Fund has been selected to be the Project of the Year.

A reception honoring recipients will be held on Sun., March 8 at Our Village Project on West Oviatt Road from 2-4 p.m. with a short program at 3 p.m.

Eric and Cynthia are well-known for their many years of service to a variety of Bay Village civic causes. Cynthia serves on the Board of the Bay Village Historical Society and both have served as President of the group. They were instrumental in initiating the city’s annual Cahoon in June event.

Eric chaired the Bay Fireworks Fund in 2014, setting a standard for future shows that have become a community summer staple. He also presided over Bay Community Council and launched a program to install American Flags community-wide at business locations. He also ensured the success of the ‘Cahoon Community Christmas.’ using his influence to bring the real Santa Claus to town.

“Cynthia and I got into volunteering when we attended a Bay Village Historical Society potluck supper,” Eakin said. “The people were so nice and kind hearted, we just had to help out in some way. That was more than 30 years ago.”

“Bay Village got to be the desirable place we all enjoy through the unsung efforts of hundreds of volunteers,” Eakin said. “There are two kinds of people: residents and citizens. Which are you?”

Members of the Bay Days Fireworks Fund committee include Councilmen Dwight Clark, Dave Tadych and Tom Henderson, George MacDonald, Jennie Mace, Camille Sheehan, Tony Dostal, Dominic Giovannazzo, Tara Wendell, Lisa Wilson and Mindy Stroh.