Bay Village Foundation Hosts 17th Annual Plaque Dedication

A Memorial Day tradition was renewed in Bay Village for the 17th year as the Bay Village Foundation hosted the annual Dedication of Bay Village Foundation Memorial Plaques along the Cahoon Park Memorial Bridge on Monday, May 27.

Community fathers gathered to honor this year’s awardees: Barb and Ian Woodburn, Gary & Pam Ebert, Frank & Marge Heldt, and Robert & Nancy Fleming.

As always, the dedication spotlighted individuals who have made indelible and priceless contributions to the Bay Village community in their uniquely personal statements of lifelong commitment to the city.

Guests were welcomed by Foundation Board President Richard Veres. Beth and Fred McLeod served as Masters of Ceremonies, board member Dave Tadych presented this year’s grant recipients and Mindy Stroh, Board Vice President, awarded this year’s scholarship recipients. Mike Romanchik recognized deceased military veterans and the high school string quartet backed the plaque presentation.

The Foundation also awards grants to groups and organizations that benefit the citizens of Bay Village.

Councilman and board member Dave Tadych presented this year’s grants ranging from $1,000 to $3,000 to the Bay Village Community Theater, Bay Veterans of Foreign Wars, Destination Bay, BAYarts, Bay Village Green Team, Youth Challenge, Family Haven, Knickerbocker Senior Center, the Lake Erie Nature & Science Center and the Carolyn Farrell Foundation.

The Foundation’s annual scholarships were also presented to graduating Bay High seniors. The $2,000 T. Richard and Betsy Martin Scholarship went to Halle Koury while $2,000 scholarships were granted to Mary Harkness and Ben Noren.

Click here to view more photos.

Please follow and like us: